We have recently changed our domain from https://abouthack.com to https://libretips.com. As a result all the traffic from our old domain is being redirected to this domain.

can ubuntu's update manager be hacked?

Post here for help with Linux security issues: antivirus, firewalls, encryption, vulnerabilities, etc
iadoreafedora
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: can ubuntu's update manager be hacked?

Post by iadoreafedora » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:12 am

I think there may be a setting along the lines of "do not ask for a password" where it's stored in your Gnome Keyring (or similar). I don't have an Ubuntu instance to test at the moment and it's too late here to install a VM but if you don't find anything I'll likely have time tomorrow to try it out.
Far as I know the timeouts for sudo and gksu [and other graphical sudos] are set differently so setting hte timeout for sudo may achieve nothing.

iadubber
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: can ubuntu's update manager be hacked?

Post by iadubber » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:15 am

I do not recall changing my password requirements and at the momemt it is not a big deal for me but I was curious as to why a password is required only sometimes in Update Manager.

I came across 'sudo -k' which will force passwords thereafter.
I will invoke it the next time this occurs.

iafaneh
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: can ubuntu's update manager be hacked?

Post by iafaneh » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:16 am

If I'm right it's just a tick box that comes up when you are asked to enter your password for Update Manager or similar and it could be possible to tick the box by mistake simply by catching a couple keys or a mouse button before typing in your password.
Ah, sorry, I forgot I run Update manager on Debian and it behaves the same. It is a tick box marked "remember password" when Update manager is invoked and it's easy to tick it if you're not watching carefully.

i6shot
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:13 pm

Re: can ubuntu's update manager be hacked?

Post by i6shot » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:39 am

The tick box appears when you are asked to supply your password. If you tick it then you will not be asked for your password again which is why you are not seeing it.
There is probably a way to reset the behaviour but I haven't had the need to do it myself.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Security”